West Smiths Station Elementary School

Basic Information

Address: 150 Lee Road 295 Smiths Station, AL 36877
County: Lee
District: Lee County Schools
Phone Number: 334-664-4050
Fax Number: 334-214-0361
Principal: Bonnie Short

Action Shots

* There are currently no photos associated with this listing.

Additional Information

School Type: Elementary School
Accreditation: SACS
State District ID: Alabama
State School ID: Alabama
Grade Level: K-5, 6-8
School Schedule (Hours in Day): 7:30-2:50 central time
School Days in Calendar Year: 180
School Colors: Black & White
School Mascot: Panther

Smiths Station

School Size: 843
Classroom Size: varies on grade
Classroom Teachers: 41
After School Programs: Yes
Computer Capabilities:

5 iPads or Chromebooks in each K-6 classroom in addition to some desktop computers; 2 computer labs

School Clubs:

Marathon Running Club, Drama Kids out of Columbus, Beta Club, Scholars Bowl, Math Team, FCA

Uniform Guidelines:


Mission Statement:

Mission Statement
The mission of the Lee County School System is to challenge every student to pursue dreams, succeed with integrity, and contribute meaningfully to a diverse society.

Philosophy/Belief Statement:

Lee County Schools Will
Graduate college and career ready students
Recruit, employ, develop and retain professionals who are effective in achieving our mission
Use emerging technologies to support teaching, learning, and work
Provide safe, supportive, and equitable environments
Manage financial resources responsibly and transparently
Communicate with employees and the community to inform, engage, and ensure accountability

Vision Statement

We envision a school system that promotes a passion for student learning; supports teachers, parents, and the community; and produces engaged and lifelong learners.

Notes/School Information: Demographic Information

Lee County, Alabama has a current population of approximately 133,010 people, a geographic size of 609 square miles, and a median household income of $39,719. Education is considered by many as the number one industry since Lee County is the home of Auburn University, the largest institution of higher education in Alabama with just over 23,000 students. Auburn University is also the largest employer in the county with over 5,200 employees. Lee County also hosts Southern Union State Community College, a two-year postsecondary institution offering day and evening classes, Lee County Schools, Auburn City Schools, Opelika City Schools, Lee-Scott Academy and Glenwood School.

The Lee County School System is located in Central East Alabama along the Alabama/Georgia border and currently has a total of 14 schools. Of those 14 schools, 7 are elementary, 2 are middle schools, and 5 are high schools. The student population for kindergarten through 12th grade is 9,738; which represents 48% of all school age students in the county. The Lee County School System contains four unique attendance zones identified as Smiths Station, Beauregard, Beulah and Loachapoka.

Smiths Station

Smiths Station is the largest attendance area with an estimated population of over 25,000. The incorporated community of Smiths Station is located in the southeastern part of the county close to the larger towns of Phenix City, Alabama and Columbus, Georgia; home of Fort Benning. The Smiths Station attendance zone is beginning to experience additional growth with new families moving into the area associated with Fort Benning and the Army's BRAC realignment scheduled to be completed in 2011. Local restaurants and convenience stores populate the large rural area with very few manufacturing or industrial sites scattered around the area. The majority of residents work in neighboring cities.

There are 5 schools in the Smiths Station attendance zone identified as West Smiths Station Elementary (K-6), East Smiths Station Elementary (K-6),South Smiths Station Elementary (K-6), Wacoochee Elementary (K-6), Smiths Station Jr. High School (7-8), Smiths Station Freshman Center (9), and "New" Smith Station High School (10-12) beginning 2011-12 school year. All schools, with the exception of Smiths Station High, are eligible but not served with Title I programs. The construction of a new elementary school has also been recently approved by the board of education.

National Directories

AF Sitemap